Kayla Atkins Music

My life – Worship, Music, Family and Jesus

Which kind of “egg” are you? April 11, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kaylaatkinsmusic @ 3:56 am

Hello friends!

I was talking with my mom recently – (who is a VERY wise woman and probably my best friend!) She was sharing with me a thought that the Lord showed her. He gives her such amazing yet simple analogies and this was one worth sharing!

Think of an egg. There are many ways to eat an egg. Hard boiled, scrambled, fried, poached, and of course all the ways we bake and cook with eggs. (My mom is a professional cook by the way – maybe a reason it came to her this way?) They are a very useful item to have around in the kitchen at all times!

But, in order for the egg to be used – it must be cracked first! It can be runny and messy, or it can be hard on the inside, but if that egg is going to be used for any good use, the shell must be cracked off of it!

That egg is much like our lives. God desires to use us in a lot of ways! We may be the protein/meat in someone’s life, we may be the substance that causes things to “stick together” like in a cake, or we may be part of another combination of good “food” for others.  If we don’t allow God to break us, we won’t be useful for anything. Instead we will sit on the shelf and eventually go bad or rot.  

Jesus said in Revelation 3:15-16 – “I know your worksthat you are neither cold nor hotI wish that you were cold or hotSobecause you are lukewarmand neither hot nor coldI am going to vomit you out of My mouth.”

Eggs are good hot, eggs are good cold, but eggs that have been sitting out all day are disgusting and rotten. We’d be spitting them out also. No longer good for anything!

Ps. 51:17 says “The sacrifice pleasing to God is a broken spirit. God, You will not despise a broken and humbled heart.”

We are in a good place when we are broken before the Lord. THEN – He has something to work with!

I’m about to embark on a new season in my life this week. Something the Lord has been preparing me for, but it has taken a lot of brokenness and time in His presence to get me to this place. I am not any more special than the next person, but I have said “Yes” to Him and His call on my life. I sort of understand what Isaiah was maybe feeling when God called and said, “Who will go? Whom shall I send?” and Isaiah piped up and said, “I’ll go! Send me!” He was willing to sacrifice his life and be broken before the Lord and be used to bring life and substance to others. Even now we continue to benefit from his words thousands of years later!

Be willing to be cracked open – whether we are hard boiled, or a runny mess – God can make something wonderful out of us!

 

One Response to “Which kind of “egg” are you?”

  1. Gwen Cooper Says:

    Very well put!! Thanks!! 🙂


Leave a comment